I need help to find my grandfather

Genealogy, Archaeology, History, Heritage & Folklore

Moderators: Clare Support, Clare Past Mod

Bunny Kearns

I need help to find my grandfather

Post by Bunny Kearns » Wed Apr 18, 2018 7:05 pm

Hi
Im new to this so don't know if I am doing this correctly . I am trying to find information about my grandfather. His name was John Kearns and he was from Clare born about 1854. His fathers name was Denis Kearns. John sailed to Liverpool and became a coal miner in Wigan. He married Ann Costello Ibn 1875 in Wigan, I do not know who he travelled from Ireland with or whether he was alone, I can't find records for him and don't know where to start. People are saying his name could have been something other than Kearns eg. Kerin??? Any help would be appreciated.
Bernadette Kearns

Sduddy

Re: I need help to find my grandfather

Post by Sduddy » Thu Apr 19, 2018 6:33 pm

It’s great to have the father’s name: Denis Kearns/Kearn/Kerin/Keran etc.

The name Dennis was not common among the Kerins. So here’s my candidate for your great grandfather: A Denis Kerin in Griffith’s Valuation leasing a farm in the townland of Ballyconry in Drumcreehy parish: http://www.askaboutireland.ie/griffith- ... eID=227691

This Denis died in 1887, aged 76. His death was registered in Ballyvaughan – see www.irishgenealogy.ie. The record shows that he was married. His address is Ballyconnree.
I’m pretty sure that it’s his son, Patrick, who is shown living in Ballyconry in the 1901 census. Patrick is aged 52, which means he was born about 1848. There’s no record of his birth or baptism – registration of births did not become law until 1864 and parish records of baptisms in Ballyvaughan start at 1854. I tried to find a record of his marriage as this would give his father’s name. The 1911 census states that he and his wife Mary are married 40 years so they must have been married about 1870, but I failed to find a record of it.